Accreditation Council for Surgical Quality | FAQ


A CSQ Accreditation provides best of care recognition from facilities involved in specialty practice within the scope of ACSQ accreditation. Information regarding policies and procedures are obtained through the ACSQ Program Manual defining parameters and details for accreditation.

Who is ACSQ?

The Accreditation Council for Surgical Quality (ACSQ) is a independent, nonprofit organization governed by healthcare providers and is dedicated to the advancement of safety, efficacy and efficiency of surgical care worldwide. The ACSQ is the first of such organizations that provides the public with defined measures to establish quality of care afforded by a healthcare center based on research based initiatives to provide quality excellence within the delivery of healthcare. Such builds the philosophy to provide the necessary education and research based initiatives to improve the quality associated with key surgical procedures within well defined specialties.

How can I become Accreditated?

A Initial Assessment - Conditional Accreditation Application must be submitted to initiate the COE accreditation process. Initial Assessment - Conditional Accreditation Application are reviewed by the ACSQ Review Committee (ARC). Based upon the information provided by the applicant, centers and physicians may obtain one of the following designations:

Approved. Applicants who are approved may apply for Full Approval within two years via the Full Approval – Unconditional Application

Denied. Applicants who have been denied may correct their deficiencies and reapply after 6 months. Applicants may request that the application be reviewed again, or may appeal the decision to the Board of Directors

Review Status. Applicants under review status are designated when case volumes provided by an applicant are insufficient to maintain the required 125 cases per year (institution) or 50 cases per year/125 cases lifetime experience within the two-year Conditional Status period. Applicants are neither approved nor denied but instead are asked to report their volumes at 6 months for re-evaluation

Pending Status. Applicants with Pending Status are awaiting additional information as requested by the ARC for further determination

Conditional Status participants may apply for Full Approval once a determination has been made that the applicant has the experience necessary to provide a safe and effective interventional endovascular environment and delivery of care based upon a comprehensive and independent review of their outcomes. Once the Full Approval application is received, a site inspection is conducted. Information collected during both the site inspection and from the Full Approval application is evaluated by the ARC. The Committee may then recommend one of the following designations:

What benefits does accreditation provide?

ACSQ Accreditation provides numerous benefits. Accreditation strengthens community confidence in the quality and safety of care, treatment and services. Additionally it provides a competitive edge in the marketplace while iImproving risk management and risk reduction.Education on good practices to improve business operations and professional advice and counsel while enhancing staff education are additional features of accreditation. Finally accreditation enhances staff recruitment and development while being rRecognized by insurers and various third parties for improved care.

What are the costs involved?

ACSQ has simplified our fee structure and significantly reduced the upfront costs of participation in the COE program.

Facilities Initial Application Fee:

Facilities pay an initial application fee of $7,500, which includes one year of participation

Annual Participation Fee: $3,975

Surgeons Initial Application Fee: $500


The surgical practice linked with the surgeon(s) and facility applying for designation does not pay any additional or separate fees.

Site Inspection Fee: $1,850

The site inspection fee is invoiced when the site inspection is scheduled. Additional site inspection fees will be billed at the completion of the site inspection if the inspection requires more than one site inspector and/or more than one site inspection day.

What is the accreditation process?

The initial application is for Conditional Status designation. The application for Conditional Status focuses on:

• Resources of the applicant institution
• Training and experience of the surgeons and surgical group
• Determination of institutions reaching ACSQ objectives for Conditional Status designation

The ACSQ Review Committee (ARC) reviews all information submitted to determine whether defined parameters have been met. Information contained within the initial application is accepted on an honor system; site inspections for Conditional Status designations are required only on rare occasion when information contained within the application is unclear or suggests further verification. In cases of denial of the initial application, the applicant institution and the physician(s) are informed of the reason(s) for denial and invited to reapply when the deficiency(ies) are corrected.

The Conditional Status designation is for two years. Before that deadline, hospitals are encouraged to submit an application for Full Approval as an ACSQ Center of Excellence® (ESCOE).

Full Approval requires a site inspection. The process is initiated once the application for Full Approval has been received. Nurses or allied health care professionals trained and experienced in endovascular surgery who are employees of ACSQ conduct the inspections following a prescribed protocol that includes:

A careful review of the facilities.

Interviews with the staff and key leaders of the facility.

Random chart reviews.

The purpose of the site inspection is to gather data, not to make judgments. The information collected during the site inspection is then submitted to the ACSQ Review Committee (ARC) for review with the Full Approval application. If the guidelines for Full Approval have been met, approval is granted for a term of three years.

How long after the application is submitted should I expect a result?

The Initial Accreditation process usually takes a minimum of 6 months to complete, up to a maximum of 12 months.

What happens if the application is denied?

Applicants who have been denied may correct their deficiencies and reapply after 6 months. Applicants may request that the application be reviewed again, or may appeal the decision to the Board of Directors.

How can I contact ACSQ?

For any questions you may e-mail Questions or comments are responded to within 24 hours.